Codex
OpenAI · Checked 2026-10-04
OWhat It Does
Codex is OpenAI's AI agent for software development. It reads and edits code, runs commands, and handles testing, code reviews, and feature implementation. Tasks can run on your computer (locally) or in OpenAI's cloud, and it has been integrated into the ChatGPT desktop app since July 9, 2026.
Official Videos
Who It Is For (Site Operator's Opinion)
Suitable for developers who want to delegate coding, reviews, and automation. The same account works across terminals, editors, and the cloud.
Site Operator's Hands-on Notes
The operator used Codex CLI (gpt-6.1-sol model) for this site's planning discussions, pre-deployment code reviews, and translation into 6 languages. Reviews found several actual bugs (pricing data mismatches and potential build failures).
Tasks You Can Delegate
- Investigate and fix bugs
- Implement new features and write and run tests
- Review pull request code
- Automate repetitive tasks in terminals and CI (codex exec)
- Run multiple tasks in parallel in a cloud environment
Where to Use It
Available through the Codex screen in the ChatGPT desktop app (macOS·Windows·Linux), Codex CLI for terminals, IDE extensions (such as VS Code), Codex Cloud in ChatGPT web/mobile, and the Codex SDK. Sign in with a ChatGPT account or use an API key (API keys exclude cloud features and use API pricing).
Pricing
- Free $0/month
For light coding tasks. GPT-6 Luna (standard speed) in the desktop app, rolling out gradually. Image generation unavailable.
- Go $8/month
For light coding tasks. GPT-6 Luna (standard speed) in the desktop app, rolling out gradually.
- Plus $20/month
Codex on the web·CLI·IDE extensions·iOS, automated code reviews·Slack integration, GPT-6.1 Sol·GPT-6 Luna. Estimated local messages per 5 hours include 15~160 with GPT-6.1 Sol. Purchase credits when limits are exceeded.
- Pro $100/month
$100·$200·$500 per month. Astra Ultrafast on the $500 plan. Currently no 5-hour limit.
- Business $20/month
$20 per user per month (2 or more users, billed annually), or $25 when billed monthly.
- Enterprise / Edu Pricing Not Disclosed
Contact sales.
- API key Pricing Not Disclosed
Use through CLI·SDK·IDE extensions, billed by API usage. No cloud features (GitHub code reviews·Slack, etc.).
Is It Free to Use?
Included in the Free plan (GPT-6 Luna at standard speed in the desktop app, rolling out gradually). Official documentation states that the ChatGPT desktop app is available 'worldwide on all ChatGPT plans, including Free'. Feature comparison tables for Codex Cloud·CLI·IDE extensions list only Plus and above.
Supported Regions
The ChatGPT desktop app (including Codex) is explicitly available worldwide on all plans. Computer Use and Record & Replay are available only in certain regions (region list unconfirmed). No separate mention of South Korea, Japan, or the EU was found.
What We Have Not Yet Confirmed
- chatgpt.com/codex, openai.com/codex, chatgpt.com/codex/pricing, and help.openai.com 'Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan' were all blocked with 403 errors, so their bodies could not be checked. officialUrl is based on links in official documentation
- Local currency prices such as KRW unconfirmed (only USD confirmed)
- Whether CLI·IDE extensions·Codex Cloud are available on Free·Go plans could not be clearly confirmed
- Availability restrictions in South Korea, Japan, and the EU/EEA unconfirmed
Unverified